Dobruja is a historical region situated between the lower Danube River and the Black Sea, and includes the Danube Delta, Romanian coast, and a part of the Bulgarian coast.

The region has a rich history dating back to prehistoric times. It was inhabited by various tribes such as the Getae and Thracians. Afterwards the Romans invaded the region. After the split of the Roman empire the Byzantine Empire took over, till the Bulgarians invaded Dobruja in the 7th century.  In the 10th century the Byzantine Empire took over the rule of the region again.  The following centuries the Ottoman Empire, Wallachia and the Russian Empire ruled over Dobruja. During the Ottoman rule the region was split between Wallachia in the south and the northern part remaining under Ottoman rule.  After the Russian-Turkish War of 1877-1878, Northern Dobruja became part of Romania while Southern Dobruja became part of Bulgaria.

The interest to invade Dobruja several times was the result of the importance of trade and commerce due to its strategic location.

Because of the history, Dobruja has a rich cultural heritage, with influences from the Roman, Byzantine, Bulgarian, Ottoman, and Russian rulers.

Northern Dobruja, part of Romania consists today of the counties of Constanța and Tulcea.